Nonna’s Lemon Ricotta Biscuits – Dish #3

Mother’s Day fell on May 13, 2012 this year.  Not only was I reminded of all the wonderful things my mom has done in her life and for the family, I began to reflect on all the lessons and values, as well as the delicious Italian recipes she has shared with me over the years.  I began my own Italian cooking adventure last month and I tried three new dishes – Ricotta Gnocchi, Shrimp Catalan, and Lemon Ricotta Biscuits.  I chose to share the recipe for lemon ricotta biscuits in honor of Mother’s Day because it is a recipe that was passed down to Giada De Laurentiis from her Nonna, which is Italian for grandmother.

Nonna’s Lemon Ricotta Biscuits are fluffy, lemony, and sweet, and they actually look like muffins.  First, combine flour, baking power, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.  Cream butter, sugar, and lemon zest together in a mixing bowl and beat until light and fluffy.  Add ricotta, egg, and lemon juice (plus almond extract, if desired) and stir.  Add the dry ingredients and mix until just blended – don’t worry if it seems thick, that’s how it is supposed to be!  Spoon this citrus, fluffy batter into twelve lined muffin cups, sprinkle muffin tops with 1 teaspoon of sugar (almond slivers may be added as well), and bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Serve warm and enjoy!  Celebrate mothers, grandmothers, and Italian recipes.

What are your thoughts?