Correction: GEN Z Dominates the Inagural Cliburn Junior Competition

First Cliburn International Junior Piano Competition and Festival
June 21-28, 2015
Ed Landreth Auditorium and PepsiCo Hall, TCU
Fort Worth, Texas USA

The Cliburn are launching a brand new program today (June 21, 2015), a competition and festival for 13 to 17-year-old pianists.  All competition performances will be webcast live at, which is not only an exciting opportunity for music lovers around the world, but also well suited to Millennial and Gen Z audiences.

The Junior Competition’s jury chairman Jon Nakamatsu won gold in the tenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in ’97, and has continued to perform as an international touring artist and serve as an esteemed member of multiple piano competition juries.  Ultimately, only three finalists will be chosen from the Junior Competition talent pool of twenty-three*.  The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra will perform with each of the three finalists under Mei-Ann Chen‘s baton.

The 24 exceptional young pianists selected to compete in Fort Worth were announced March 12,  2015. (*However, the schedule of performances only list 23.) They hail from all over the world, representing 14 countries: the United States (9), China (5), Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, and Tajikistan. They range in age from 13 to 17 (the later end of the Millennial generation, part of Gen Z). A selection committee chose the competitors from an impressive applicant pool of 160 young pianists, through online applications and video submissions of 15 to 20 minutes. CLICK HERE for competitor bios.

Will you be listening to live webcast or attending in person?  Let me know what you’re looking forward to most in the comments.

This blog post is based on the information published here – Click the link to learn more about this exciting event.

CliburnJunior_WebsiteHeaderPerformance Order – chosen at random:
all times are CST

Sunday, June 21
10:00 a.m. Zitong Wang, 16, China
10:25 a.m. Xiaoxuan Li, 13 China
11:00 a.m. Anna Boonyanit, 16, United States
11:25 a.m. Alim Beisembayev, 17, Kazakhstan
12:00 p.m. Wei Luo, 16, China
12:25 p.m. Jeong Min Kim, 17, South Korea

3:00 p.m. Misha Galant, 17, United States
3:25 p.m. Roger Shen, 16, United States
4:00 p.m. Adam Balogh, 17, Hungary
4:25 p.m. Amir Siraj, 15, United States
5:00 p.m. Natasha Wu, 15, United States/Taiwan
5:25 p.m. Arsenii Mun, 16, Russia

Monday, June 22
2:00 p.m. Yukine Kuroki, 16, Japan
2:25 p.m. Eoín Fleming, 17, Ireland
3:00 p.m. Clayton Stephenson, 16, United States
3:25 p.m. Anna Larsen, 15, United States
4:00 p.m. Wai Yuen Wong, 17, Hong Kong
4:25 p.m. Gavin Bala, 16, Singapore

7:00 p.m. Tony Yike Yang, 16, Canada
7:25 p.m. Anastasia Magamedova, 17, Tajikistan
8:00 p.m. Youlan Ji, 16, China
8:25 p.m. Evelyn Mo, 16, United States
8:50 p.m. Gregory Martin, 17 United States